UHON 207.001 FINE ART AS GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE: SOCIAL TRANSFORMATION THROUGH ART

  • Meeting Time: Tuesday/Thursday from 2-3:15 pm
  • Location: Honors Center Room 9
  • Professor: Associate Professor Megan Jacobs, MFA
  • Email: mejacobs@unm.edu
  • Office: Honors Center Room 19a
  • Office Hours: Tuesday: 9-11, Thursday: 11-12 pm and by appointment
All readings must be finished before class on the days listed.  Bring your readings to class. Your typed, daily written observations are due at the start of class on each class period.

Week 1  Introductions + Art

Tuesday, Jan. 15

Thursday, Jan. 17

Week 2   How We See + Art as a Social Tool 

Tuesday, Jan. 22

Thursday, Jan. 24

Week 3  Inside Out Film Screening + Discussion

Tuesday, Jan. 29

Thursday, Jan. 31

Week 4   Inside Out:  Photography + Editing Skills

Tuesday, Feb. 5

  • Select Inside Out themes

Thursday, Feb. 7

  • Define group duties
  • Photography (shallow and great DOF)/Practice Photography Session
  • Photo Release (in case you need more)
  • Set up of the reading, “Outside the Whale”,  for Tuesday + Pass out the Argumentative Paper Topic

Week 5      The Necessity of Political Art + Inside Out Image Review

Tuesday, Feb. 12

Thursday, Feb. 14

 Week 6   Performance Art 

Tuesday, Feb. 19-Snow day, school closed. 

Thursday, Feb. 21

Week 7  Logistics + Editing

Tuesday, Feb. 26

  • Political Art-Oral Presentations 
    • James Luna (Victoria)
    • Yes Men (Sophia)
    • Ana Teresa Fernández (Carly)
  • Sharing of ideas for Project #2 (bring in ads + location ideas and/or ideas for the guerilla projection)

Next class: Please bring your cell phones and computers to class.

Thursday, Feb. 28

  • Argumentative Papers due
  • Political Art-Oral Presentations
    • Vik Muniz (Carla)
    • Krzysztof Wodiczko (Matthew)
  • In class editing time: Inside Out Project Due (submit files) by Friday at 5 pm. Editors, place final images for your group here: Google Presentation Access

Week 8  

Tuesday, Mar. 5

  • Political Art Presentations 
    • Naomi Natale (Grace)
    • Guerilla Girls (Mary)
    • Jackie Sumell (Nora)
  • VIDEO DEMONSTRATIONS

Thursday, Mar. 7

  • Political Art Presentations
    • Candy Chang (Josh)
    • Felix Gonzales Torres (Naseem)
  • Video Editing Day + Prep for installation of Inside Out Project
  • Discuss Artist’s statements

Week 9    Spring Break, No Class

Week 10   

Tuesday, Mar. 19   Install Inside Out Work + Peer Evaluations + Invite the Daily Lobo (Peer Evaluation for Inside Out )

Thursday, Mar. 21  Final Editing Day

  • Documentation for Project #2 + your artist’s statement is due by the start of class on Tuesday! Please be sure to email me your youtube link at: mejacobs@unm.edu

Week 11  

Tuesday, Mar. 26 Critique Project #2

Thursday, Mar. 28 Oral Presentations + Group Discussions

Week 12   

Tuesday, Apr. 2   

  • Possible, Edie Tsong Visit 
  • Political Art-Oral Presentations
    • Ai Wei Wei (Tatye)
  • Groups discuss final project + proposal preparation

Thursday, Apr. 4    

  • Group Proposals/Presentations of Final Project Concepts- Project Logistics: materials/budget, locations, scouting, photography, documentation

Week 13  Oral Presentations + Artist’s Statement

Tuesday, Apr. 9 

  • Political Art-Oral Presentations
    • Banksy (Marcos)
    • Kara Walker (Andy)

Thursday, Apr. 11

What to expect for Mid-Point Critique

Week 14    

Tuesday, Apr. 16   Mid-Point Critique

Thursday, Apr. 18

  • Political Art-Oral Presentations
    • Richard Ross (Marco)

Week 15  

Tuesday, Apr. 23 

  • Political Art-Oral Presentations
    • Minerva Cuevas (Brittni)

Thursday, Apr. 25 Sebastiao Salgado | Salt of the Earth documentary + Artistic Refinement

Week 16   

Tuesday, Apr. 30  Teamwork day

Thursday, May 2 Editing + Print Artists’ Statements

FINAL EXAM WEEK

Tuesday, May 8, 10 am-12 pm, Final Critique + Celebration 

Final Project Peer Evaluations 

TEAM 1

TEAM 2

TEAM 3

TEAM 4

 

Supplemental Readings:

Advertisements